International Women’s Day Virtual Panel Event

Building Women’s Resilience in the Face of COVID-19

March 8, 2022

10:00 a.m. EST | 9:00 a.m. CST | 4:00 p.m. CET | 8:30 p.m. IST

Moderator:

 Nathalie Laidler-Kylander, President, Trickle Up

Panelists:

Winne Auma, VP of Programs, Village Enterprise

Shoubo Jalal, Senior Gender Advisor, United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF)

Jyotsna Puri, Associate Vice President – Strategy and Knowledge Department, International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD)

Sofia Sprechmann, Secretary General, CARE International

As we approach a third year of the COVID-19 pandemic, the world continues to face unprecedented challenges and deep uncertainty. While we’ve all been living with unpredictability, the most vulnerable, especially women, have been hit hardest. With 97 million more people estimated to be living in extreme poverty, the pandemic turned back decades of progress in international development. Women in particular have borne an outsized burden, facing loss of personal and household income, increased unpaid care work, and decreased mobility as a result of lockdowns.

Despite these difficulties, women living in extreme poverty participating in social and economic inclusion programs have faced this health and economic crisis with resilience and hope. Equipped with skills and knowledge and fueled by their creativity, they’ve been successfully pivoting, diversifying, and strengthening their micro-enterprises. Together, in savings groups, they’ve been supporting one another through COVID-19 and other shocks. And they’ve continued to save for the future — for themselves, their families, and their communities.

On International Women’s Day, we will commemorate the agency and resilience that women living in extreme poverty have demonstrated during the extraordinarily difficult circumstances of the last two years.

Moderated by Trickle Up’s president, panelists will discuss the vital and inspiring work being done in response to the pandemic’s continued impact on women living in extreme poverty. They will also consider our collective efforts critically — what is working, what isn’t and why? — and explore where research efforts should be directed. Together, we hope to inspire advancements that will promote the social and economic inclusion of the most vulnerable and encourage all of us to uncover the best solutions to end poverty.

Join us for Building Women’s Resilience in the Face of COVID-19 on March 8, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. EST | 9:00 a.m. CST| 4:00 p.m. CET| 8:30 p.m. IST.

Trickle Up is a global anti-poverty nonprofit. We go further to bring breakthrough opportunities to the world’s poorest people.

Related Story

Empowering Women Farmers

In early 2021, the Trickle Up team launched a two-year initiative in Odisha, India, with philanthropic grant support from the Walmart Foundation. Currently underway with NGO and government partners after careful planning and preparation, the Ultra-Poor Market Access...